About Wolf Island in the Galapagos

Official Name: Isla Wolf (Wolf Island)
English Name: Wenman Island
Visitor Sites: none - only dive sites
Area: 0.4 sq. miles (1 sq km)
Max altitude: 490 feet (150 meters)
Approximate Age: 4 million years old

Animals Regularly Seen: Scalloped Hammerhead Sharks, Galapagos Sharks, Reef Sharks, Manta Rays, Sea Turtles, Reef Fish.

Animals occasionally or seasonally seen: Whale shark.

One of the best dive sites in the world.

Teodoro Wolf Island (also named Wenman, but referred to only as "Wolf") was named after Theodor Wolf, a German naturalist who visited the Galapagos Islands. Wolf Island, like Darwin Island, does not have any visitor landing sites, but it is rather a dive-only destination. Wolf Island has several protected anchorages and a variety of dive sites that include drift dives with big animals, cave dives, pinnacle and wall dives, as well as some snorkeling opportunities.

Wolf Island offers incredible dive sites such as Shark Bay, The Landslide, The Pinnacle, The Caves, North Islet, The Elephant and The Anchorage. All of these dive sites offer sure sightings of enormous schools of scalloped hammerhead sharks, as well as large schools of Galapagos sharks and cow-nosed rays. Wolf Island, however, is not a destination for beginner divers. Dive sites like The Elephant, for example, are very dangerous due to strong currents and undersurge. These dive sites are recommended for advanced divers only.

Map of the Galapagos showing Wolf Island